Your guide to 2023 Midlands municipal elections

Richland and Lexington County voters head to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7 to vote for a variety of local races including school board, city council, and mayoral races.


Hit the polls today to get your “I Voted” sticker. | Photo via @teenytinyjenn

Table of Contents

Voters in Richland and Lexington counties will head to the polls today for several key municipal elections.

Here’s your guide to the candidates and essential voter information:

Note: The City of Cayce General Election and Town of Irmo General Election are held in both Richland and Lexington Counties.

Richland County

  • Arcadia Lakes
    • Town Council: Janet Holland and Linda Z Jackson
  • Blythewood
    • Mayor: Bryan S Franklin and Sloan Jarvis Griffin III
    • Town Council: Eddie Baughman, Donald B Brock Jr, Andrea Fripp, and Patricia D Hovis
  • Columbia
    • District 02: Ed McDowell
    • District 03: Moe Baddourah and Will Brennan face off
    • At Large: Tyler Bailey, Jesse Bullard, and Christa Williams
  • Irmo
    • Mayor: Bill Danielson and Barry A. Walker Sr
    • Town Council: Jeff Allen, Phyllis Coleman, George Frazier, Gabriel Penfield, and Erik Sickinger

Lexington County

  • Batesburg-Leesville
    • District 02: David W Bouknight Jr.
    • District 04: Betty Barnes Hartley and Johnnie Mae Speach-Lemon
    • District 06: Tillman Gives and Paul Wise
    • Dist 8: Bob Hall
  • Cayce
    • Mayor: Elise Partin and Abbott Bray
    • City Council 02: Marie Brown, James Jenkins, Byron Thomas
    • City Council 04: Phil Carter, Melvin Fields, Marcy Hayden
  • Lexington
    • Mayor: Hazel Livingston runs unopposed for Mayor
    • Town Council: Will Allen, Greg Brewer, Bennett Casto, Edwin Gerace, Matthew Graham, Todd R Lyle, Jeannie Michaels, and Amelia Cherry Pocta
    • School Board Election: District 4: Troy S Harper
  • Pelion
    • Town Council: John Greg Downer, John Elkin, and Daniel F Shumpert
  • Pine Ridge
    • Town Council: Beth Spires Sturkie and Maria Jeffcoat Urbanek
  • Springdale
    • Town Council: Viki Sox Fecas, Steve O Hallman, and Cory Hook
  • West Columbia
    • Mayor: Tem Miles and Melissa Sprouse Browne

Voting Tips:

  • Check Polling Location: Confirm where you vote before Election Day.
  • Registration and ID: Ensure you’re registered and know what ID to bring.
  • Assistance: Contact your county voter registration office with any questions.

This election includes pivotal roles from mayoral to council seats, affecting community direction and policies. Your participation is crucial in shaping the future of our communities.
Visit SC Votes full details, a sample ballot, more info on all candidates, and to verify your voting information.